If you’re looking for the best new mattress for cheap, focus on the features you’ll actually use—not just the lowest listed price. Mattress size, thickness, firmness, and construction all affect how a bed feels and whether it suits your sleep habits. These five options include foam and hybrid designs at different thicknesses, so you can compare their stated features and choose a practical fit for your room and budget. Prices can change, so check the current listing before you decide.
Quick Comparison
| Mattress | Type and height | Best fit | Standout feature |
|---|---|---|---|
| SayTale Queen Hybrid Mattress | Hybrid, 12 inches | Queen-size shoppers seeking a medium feel | Pocket springs, zoned support, and a stated 365-night trial |
| Best Price Mattress 8-Inch Memory Foam Mattress | Memory foam, 8 inches | Shoppers who prefer an all-foam design | Gel-infused foam and compressed packaging |
| AVAGA Queen Hybrid Mattress | Hybrid, 10 inches | Queen-size shoppers wanting a fiberglass-free design | Individually wrapped coils and stated safety certifications |
| Best Price Mattress Full 6-Inch Mattress | Memory foam, 6 inches | Full-size beds and lower-profile setups | Green tea-infused foam and a 10-year warranty |
| BedStory Queen 14-Inch Hybrid Mattress | Hybrid, 14 inches | Queen-size shoppers who want a taller bed | Reinforced pocket springs and a stated 365-night trial |
Our Picks: Best New Mattress For Cheap reviews
SayTale Queen Hybrid: A Feature-Rich Medium-Firm Pick
The SayTale is a 12-inch queen hybrid mattress that pairs memory foam with individually wrapped pocket springs. Its stated medium firmness is intended to balance cushioning with support, while the brand describes a seven-zone support system for alignment and pressure relief. Reinforced edge springs are another useful feature if you tend to sit or sleep near the side of the bed.
The spring-and-foam design may appeal to couples because the listing describes motion isolation, and the breathable cover and open-pore foam are intended to help manage heat and moisture. The mattress measures 80 by 60 inches and has a stated maximum load capacity of 600 pounds. Its materials are listed as OEKO-TEX certified fabric and CertiPUR-US certified foam.
This is the most feature-packed option here, but that does not automatically make it the best value for every shopper. It is a queen-size mattress with a 12-inch profile, so check your frame and fitted-sheet depth. The listed 365-night trial and 25 years of care are also worth reviewing in the seller’s terms before buying.
Pros:
- Hybrid build combines memory foam with pocket springs.
- Medium-firm feel is designed for multiple sleeping positions.
- Listing describes zoned support and reinforced edges.
- Includes stated motion-isolation and breathable-cover features.
Cons:
- Queen size and 12-inch height may not suit every room or frame.
- Trial and care terms should be checked before purchase.
Verdict: Choose the SayTale if you want a queen hybrid with several support and cooling features, and its size and terms fit your setup.
Best Price Mattress 8-Inch Foam: A Simple All-Foam Option
This 8-inch mattress uses gel-infused memory foam and is described as medium firm. Foam conforms more closely than a spring-based design, which may suit shoppers who like a cushioned, contouring feel. The gel and breathable construction are intended to help with temperature regulation, though they cannot guarantee that every sleeper will stay cool.
It ships compressed for setup, and the listing says it can take up to 72 hours to expand to full size. The product information provided does not specify a mattress size, so confirm the size options on the listing and compare them with your bed frame before ordering.
Compared with the thicker hybrids in this roundup, this model has a simpler, lower-profile design. That may be useful if you want an all-foam mattress, but shoppers looking for pocket springs, reinforced edges, or detailed support zoning may prefer one of the hybrid choices.
Pros:
- All-foam design with gel-infused memory foam.
- Medium-firm feel is intended to balance comfort and support.
- Compressed packaging makes delivery and setup more manageable.
- Listing describes a breathable design.
Cons:
- Allow up to 72 hours for full expansion.
- Confirm the available size before placing an order.
Verdict: Consider this model if you want a straightforward foam mattress and can confirm that its available size and 8-inch profile work for your bed.
AVAGA Queen Hybrid: A Mid-Height, Fiberglass-Free Design
The AVAGA is a 10-inch queen hybrid that combines memory foam with individually wrapped pocket coils. The foam is intended to relieve pressure, while the coils provide a spring-based support layer. Its medium feel aims to balance cushioning and support, and the listing describes the mattress as fiberglass-free.
AVAGA states that the materials are CertiPUR-US and OEKO-TEX Standard 100 certified. The mattress measures 80 by 60 inches and is designed to fit common frames, including platform beds and box springs. After unboxing, allow 48 to 72 hours for it to expand. The stated 10-year support period is a useful detail to compare with the terms of other options.
At 10 inches, it is shorter than the SayTale and BedStory hybrids in this selection. That can be a practical advantage if you prefer a lower profile, but it offers fewer listed features than the SayTale, such as a specified weight capacity or zoned support system.
Pros:
- Combines pocket coils with memory foam.
- Listed as fiberglass-free and carries stated material certifications.
- Queen dimensions and compatibility with several common frame types are provided.
- 10-inch height may suit shoppers who want a less-tall mattress.
Cons:
- Needs 48 to 72 hours to fully expand.
- Has a shorter listed support period than the trial period stated for some alternatives.
Verdict: The AVAGA is a sensible option if you want a queen hybrid with a moderate height and a fiberglass-free design.
Best Price Mattress Full 6-Inch: A Low-Profile Foam Mattress
This full-size, 6-inch mattress is the lowest-profile option in the group. Its construction includes memory foam, support foam, and high-density layers. The brand says the memory foam contours to the body and is infused with green tea to help keep the mattress fresh. It is also listed with CertiPUR-US certified foams and a cotton-based fire retardant.
A thinner mattress can be a practical fit for some guest rooms or lower-profile setups, but check your bed frame and personal comfort needs before choosing it. The product details do not state a firmness level, so shoppers who need a particular feel should confirm whether more information is available on the listing.
Unlike the queen hybrid models here, this mattress has no listed pocket-coil layer. Its 10-year warranty adds a clear coverage detail, but be sure to read the warranty terms to understand what is included.
Pros:
- Full size with a compact 6-inch profile.
- Uses memory foam, support foam, and high-density layers.
- Listing states CertiPUR-US certified foams.
- Includes a stated 10-year warranty.
Cons:
- Six inches may be too low-profile for some sleepers or bed frames.
- The supplied product details do not state a firmness level.
Verdict: Choose this mattress if you need a full-size, low-profile foam option and its unstated firmness is not a concern.
BedStory Queen 14-Inch Hybrid: A Taller Mattress with Pocket Springs
The BedStory is a 14-inch queen hybrid with multiple foam layers and individually wrapped, reinforced pocket springs. It is described as medium firm, with the foam intended to cushion pressure points and the coils designed to provide support. Its taller profile may appeal if you prefer a higher mattress, but check your frame and fitted-sheet depth first.
The listing describes an open-coil system for airflow and gel-infused foam to help manage temperature. It also states that the mattress meets CertiPUR-US, OEKO-TEX, and CFR1633 standards and is made without fiberglass. The stated 365-night trial and 10-year support may be useful, provided the terms meet your needs.
Among these picks, BedStory has the greatest listed height and emphasizes reinforced coils. That makes it worth comparing with the thinner SayTale and AVAGA hybrids if you want a taller queen mattress. Its height and multiple layers may not be necessary if you are simply looking for the most basic replacement bed.
Pros:
- 14-inch hybrid build combines foam layers and pocket springs.
- Medium-firm feel is designed for different sleeping positions.
- Listing states fiberglass-free construction and several material or safety standards.
- Includes a stated 365-night trial and 10-year support.
Cons:
- Taller profile may require deeper fitted sheets and a compatible frame.
- Check trial and support terms before relying on the stated coverage.
Verdict: Consider the BedStory if you want a taller queen hybrid with pocket springs and the listed trial and support terms work for you.
How to Choose a Mattress on a Budget
Start with the Size You Need
Measure your bed frame before shopping, then match the mattress size to that frame. The SayTale, AVAGA, and BedStory models are queen size, while the Best Price Mattress 6-inch option is full size. The 8-inch Best Price Mattress listing does not specify a size in the supplied product details, so confirm the available options before ordering.
Compare Foam and Hybrid Construction
All-foam mattresses use foam layers rather than pocket springs. They may be a fit if you prefer a more contouring feel. Hybrid mattresses combine foam with coils, which can provide a different balance of cushioning and spring support. Consider which construction you prefer, but remember that a product description cannot predict exactly how a mattress will feel to you.
Choose a Height That Works with Your Setup
These mattresses range from 6 to 14 inches tall. A mattress’s height affects the total height of your bed and can determine whether your fitted sheets fit properly. Check the height of your existing mattress, your frame, and your sheet pockets before choosing a replacement.
Think About Firmness and Sleep Position
Three options are described as medium or medium firm: SayTale, Best Price Mattress 8-inch, and BedStory. AVAGA is described as medium, while the supplied details for the 6-inch Best Price Mattress do not give a firmness level. Firmness is personal, so use the listed feel as a starting point rather than a guarantee. If possible, check the seller’s terms for trial or return information.
Look for Features That Matter to You
Cooling materials, motion isolation, edge support, and pressure relief can be useful, but they are not equally important to every sleeper. For example, couples may value the motion-isolation features listed for the SayTale or BedStory, while shoppers who want a fiberglass-free design may compare AVAGA and BedStory. Focus on a few needs that matter most rather than paying extra for features you may not use.
Check Setup, Coverage, and Certifications
Mattresses shipped in a box need time to expand. The Best Price Mattress 8-inch model lists up to 72 hours, and AVAGA lists 48 to 72 hours. Check the product page for instructions before sleeping on a new mattress. Also read the details of any stated warranty, trial, or support period, since terms and conditions can affect what is covered. Certifications listed by a brand describe materials or standards; they do not guarantee a particular comfort level.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which mattress in this list is the lowest profile?
The Best Price Mattress full-size foam model is 6 inches tall, making it the lowest-profile option here. Confirm that this height suits your frame and comfort preferences before buying.
Which options are hybrids?
The SayTale, AVAGA, and BedStory mattresses combine foam with pocket springs. The two Best Price Mattress options are described as foam mattresses.
How long should I wait before using a mattress in a box?
Follow the instructions for the specific mattress. The Best Price Mattress 8-inch listing says to allow up to 72 hours for expansion, while AVAGA recommends 48 to 72 hours. Check the packaging and product page for any additional directions.
Which mattresses are listed as medium or medium firm?
SayTale and BedStory are described as medium firm. The Best Price Mattress 8-inch model and AVAGA are described as medium. The supplied details for the Best Price Mattress 6-inch model do not state a firmness level.
Are any of these mattresses listed as fiberglass-free?
AVAGA and BedStory are listed as fiberglass-free. If this feature is important to you, confirm the current product details and materials information before ordering.
Do these mattresses include a trial or warranty?
The SayTale listing states a 365-night trial and 25 years of care; BedStory states a 365-night trial and 10-year support. The Best Price Mattress 6-inch listing states a 10-year warranty. Read each seller’s terms to understand conditions and coverage.
Final Recommendation
For a budget-minded buyer who wants a queen hybrid with a medium-firm feel and several listed support features, the SayTale is the most feature-rich choice in this group. If you prefer a shorter queen hybrid, compare AVAGA; if you want a taller design, consider BedStory. The Best Price Mattress foam options may suit shoppers who prefer a simpler foam build, but verify the size and firmness details that matter to your setup. Compare the current listing details and coverage terms before making your final choice.
